A piece of everyday life

So far, what’s up in May

Oskar showed me his now page today, I thought it’s a nice idea to start one myself.

What’s going on lately?

Living together

So Oskar is in Penang again, this time we rented an apartment in Batu Feringghi for a month, so no hostel hopping anymore. It’s such a good luck because one month whole unit rent is not a common thing in Penang. Landlords are in two poles: either make their houses home stay and charge RM150+for each night, or just rent them to long term tenants (at least 6month). We have tourists, students and working adults from other states and expats here, quite a high demand in the rental scene. So why take the fuss to rent your house out only for a month? I guess the reason why we got this house is because our landlord is new to the scene (she’s two years younger than me, quite a reasonable nice young lady), and the location is relatively remote compared to George Town & Bayan Lepas.

We’ve passed 2/3 our tenancy now, and haven’t found the next place. Landlords and agents on Facebook kept telling me it’s impossible to find one month rental, but we still want to try our luck. I really like to live in an apartment with our own kitchen, also a buffer zone from the outside and the bedroom, which is the living room. It makes me feel more human in private place.

Rock climbing

We signed up a rock climbing workshop at Project Rock in the beginning of the month and started to go there very frequently, almost everyday, 5-6 times in a week. There was time when we missed one day and my muscles are mumbling to me that they want some movements. Weird experience for me. I figured that in this sport you will need strength, skills and courage. I’m still working on it but the third is the most challenging one for me. To be able to jump, to believe a small rock can really support me, to acknowledge I can try and the worst scenario is just a fall… to calibrate my body, mind and heart, it’s a big big subject I’m still working on. And I must say there is enjoyment, but also a lot of terror feelings.

I hope we can continue this sport after the end of this month!